Is their a warranty on my new or used gun?
NEW FIREARMS are covered by a full factory warranty. Buck’s will assist in the return to the manufacturer for any warranty repair. Firearms will NOT be replaced by Buck’s Gun Rack. USED FIREARMS are covered by a 6-month Buck’s warranty. Please see our Store Policies HERE.
Does Buck’s have a layaway program?
Yes, Buck’s Does have a layaway program! Buck’s offers a 6 month layaway on anything in the store for no additional charge. All you need to start a layaway is 20% of the total cost down and one payment a month. For more information on our free layaway program, click HERE.
Does Buck’s take guns in in trade?
Yes, Buck’s does take firearms in trade. You must bring the firearm into our store for evaluation.
Does Buck’s buy used guns?
Yes, Buck’s does purchase used firearms. You must bring the firearm into our store for evaluation.
If I trade in a gun is there still a 3 – Day Wait?
No, if you’re trading in a firearm you are exempt from the 3-Day Wait
Can I buy a gun without a concealed weapons permit?
Yes, a concealed weapons permit is only required to exempt you from the 3-Day Wait. For more information on firearms purchase requirements, please review our FAQ.
I have a Florida concealed weapons permit, do I still have a 3- day wait?
No, a concealed weapons permit exempts you from the 3-Day Wait. You can purchase a firearm and take it home the same day once your background check is approved. Otherwise, there is a 3 business day wait on all firearms excluding weekends and holidays. For more information on concealed weapons permits, please see our CWP page HERE.
Who performs the required background check for firearm purchases?
Background checks in the state of Florida are conducted by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE), not the F.B.I.
I got a non-approval on my background check, do I get my money back?
If you receive a non-approval on a firearms purchase and wish to cancel the sale rather than appeal, a charge of 30.00 plus the $5.00 FDLE background check will be deducted from the total refund amount. Please see our Store Policies Page HERE for more information.
I’m selling a gun to another person, can Buck’s transfer the gun for me?
Yes, Buck’s can transfer a firearm between two individuals. The cost for a transfer is $40 plus a $5 background check fee and the same rules and required paperwork as purchasing a firearm from a retailer apply. For more information on firearm purchase requirements, please review our FAQ. For more information on transfers please see our Firearms Transfers page HERE.
Can I return firearms or ammunition?
No, all firearms and ammunition sales are final. Please review our store policies listed HERE.
Can I return merchandise that I’ve bought?
FIREARMS AND AMMUNITION CAN NOT BE RETURNED ONCE THEY HAVE LEFT THE STORE
Accessories may be returned or exchanged within 14 days with receipt. The item must be in new condition and still have undamaged original packaging. See our store policy requirements listed HERE.
Can I order a firearm that is not in stock?
Yes, Buck’s can special order almost any firearm. A minimum deposit of 50% is required at the time the order is placed.
Does Buck’s do firearms transfers?
Yes, we are a licensed Firearms dealer and can transfer firearms from any store or online purchase. Please visit our FFL Transfer page HERE for more information.
I want to buy a gun online, what do I do?
Buck’s does online transfers. When you purchase the firearm from another online retailer, you will need to let them know that Buck’s will be the receiving dealer. You must give them our contact information so we can exchange licenses (FFL). Once the guns arrive at our store, they will be processed and you will receive a phone call from us letting you know you can come pick up your guns. The required paperwork and 3-Day Wait still apply. There is a transfer fee of $40 plus a $5 FDLE background check fee. Please see our FFL Transfers page HERE for more information.
Does Buck’s have a gunsmith?
Yes, we do have a gunsmith who works part time. Please visit our gunsmithing page HERE for more information.
Is Buck’s a class III dealer?
No, Buck’s Gun Rack is NOT a class III dealer.
What are the requirements to purchase a firearm in Florida?
- Must be 21 years of age. Rifles and shotguns may be purchased by a person who is at least 18 when that person is a law enforcement officer or correctional officer as defined in F.S. 943.10 or service member as defined in F.S. 250.01.
- Must be a Florida resident to purchase a handgun. Long guns may be purchased by persons who are residents of other states so long as the sale complies with applicable laws in the purchaser’s state of residence.
- Legal permanent resident aliens who are Florida residents may purchase a firearm and must provide a valid alien registration number. Non-resident aliens visiting Florida must present a border crossing number (I-94) and a valid exception document .
- Florida does not require a permit to purchase a firearm nor is there a permit that exempts any person from the background check requirement.
- There is a waiting period of three days, excluding weekends and state holidays, between purchase and delivery of all firearms. Individual counties and cities have the authority to enact local ordinances extending the waiting period to as much as five days. Please consult local ordinances for more detailed information.
- There is no limit to the number of firearms that may be transferred in a single transaction. The transaction is considered complete once the dealer has completed and signed the ATF Form 4473. An additional transfer (whether minutes later, the next day, or the next month) requires an additional background check.
What is the process for purchasing a firearm in Florida from a licensed firearm dealer?
- First, choose the firearm you’d like to purchase
- You will be required to provide a valid government issued photo identification.
- Fill out the ATF Form 4473 (Firearms Transaction Record) provided by the firearm dealer.
- The dealer will submit your personal information to the Firearm Purchase Program at FDLE.
- FDLE will perform the required queries and compare responses to your demographics (name, race, sex, date of birth, etc.) and determine your eligibility to purchase a firearm according to state and federal law.
- FDLE will provide a transaction number (control number) and a decision (approve or non-approve).
How do I know if I’m eligible to purchase a firearm?
There are ten categories of persons who are not eligible to purchase or possess a firearm under federal law (Title 18, United States Code 922(g)(1)-(9), (n)). They are:
- Convicted of a felony (or equivalent)
- Fugitive from justice
- Unlawful user or addicted to a controlled substance
- Adjudicated mentally defective or involuntarily committed to treatment
- Illegal alien
- Dishonorable discharge from the US Armed Forces
- Renounced United States citizenship
- Active protection order (restraining order, injunction for protection, etc.)
- Convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence
- Under indictment or information for a felony
In addition to federal law, Florida law prohibits persons who:
- Are adjudicated delinquent of a crime that would have been a felony if committed by an adult until the age of 24 or until record is expunged.
- Receive “Adjudication Withheld” on any felony or on a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence and three years has not yet lapsed since the completion of sentencing provisions.
- Were recently arrested for a potentially disqualifying crime which has not been dismissed or disposed of in court.
How do I obtain a copy of my criminal record?
A copy of your Florida criminal record may be obtained from FDLE for a fee using their online criminal history search or by mail.
National criminal histories may be obtained from the FBI or directly from the state where the record is held. Many states post information on the internet about how to challenge the accuracy or completeness of a criminal record or directly from the state where the record is held.
How do I have my criminal record updated?
Florida criminal records: Contact FDLE’s Disposition Section.
For criminal records in other states: Contact the criminal record repository in the state where the arrest(s) occurred.
For federal criminal records: Contact the FBI.
How do I have my record sealed / expunged?
You must contact the state or federal government where the arrest occurred and apply to have the record sealed or expunged.
How do I submit an appeal for a non-approval?
Appeal forms may be obtained from the dealer at the time of non-approval. It should be filled out in its entirety and mailed to the Firearm Purchase Program (address on form). Fingerprinting services may only be obtained from local law enforcement agencies and may be rolled onto the form or a separate fingerprint card may be attached. Fingerprints rolled by a non-law enforcement agency will be rejected and returned without processing. Appeals must be received within 60 days of the non-approval or they will be returned without processing. If the dealer does not have a form, download an appeal form here or contact FPP Customer Service at 850-410-8139. You will need your control number which is available from the firearm dealer.
Florida Department of Law Enforcement
Firearm Eligibility Bureau
P.O. Box 1489
Tallahassee, FL 32302
The Appeal Process:
Appeal is received and logged. FDLE will send a letter confirmation we have received your appeal. Customer’s fingerprints are compared to the fingerprints attached to the criminal record in question. If your fingerprints are not a match to the disqualifying record, you will receive an approval letter.
If the fingerprints are a match, the Appeals Unit will review the criminal record which is the basis for the non-approval. If the record appears to be valid and correct, the non-approval decision will be sustained and you will receive a letter informing you of the decision.
If upon review, the criminal record appears to contain a mistake or has some inconsistency indicating further research is necessary, FDLE will conduct the research needed to either overturn (approve) or sustain the non-approval decision.
If you have documents that will assist with your appeal, please mail copies in with your appeal form. FDLE must verify the documents you provide are valid.
Appeal processing times vary due to the nature of the appeal and the volume of appeals currently in process. A letter will be mailed to you upon completion of the appeal with the final decision on eligibility.
Letters of approval expire 30 days from the date they are issued and may be used for a one-time purchase at the firearm dealer of your choice without having to repeat the background check. Lost and/or expired letters will not be re-issued. Letters of sustained non-approval will refer you to the agency or agencies that may be able to assist you with rectifying the issue that is preventing you from purchasing a firearm
Tips for Submitting an Appeal:
Please remember to sign your appeal form or it will be returned to you without being processed.
Please list the address that you would like your response letter mailed to if it is different than your home address.
Should you move before the completion of your appeal, please notify the Firearm Eligibility Bureau, Appeals Unit of your new address to ensure that your final decision letter is received by you. Be sure to add your full name and control number.
What if my fingerprints are already on-file?
Federal law prohibits the use of fingerprints for any reason other than the reason they were submitted. If you were fingerprinted for employment, those fingerprints cannot be used to process a firearm appeal. Fingerprints submitted as part of an appeal will be returned to you upon completion of the appeal and will not be available should you need to file another appeal in the future.
I was told my background check is pending a decision. What does that mean and when can I expect a final decision?
Florida statute requires a completed background check before a Federal Firearm Licensee (FFL) may transfer a firearm to a non-licensed person. 98% of all transactions are resolved within minutes of being received. 96% of all transactions are approved, just under 2% are non-approved. Additional information is needed before a final decision can be made for the remaining 2%.
The pending transaction is immediately forwarded to the Firearm Eligibility Bureau, Eligibility Research Unit (ERU) and is assigned to a team of analysts who will conduct research until sufficient information has been received to make a final decision. Every effort is made to conclude the research and make a final decision before the 3-day waiting period ends. Some transactions may take longer than 3 business days. Research for federal, military, out of state, and pre-1990 records may take longer.
How can I find out what is causing the delay? Is there something I can do to help resolve the issue?
The most common reason a transaction may be in pending status is a criminal history record (arrest) is missing court disposition information. It could be the charge was dismissed but the dismissal was not reported or correctly associated with your record. Another possible reason is the charge level (felony or misdemeanor) is either missing from the record or for states that do not report levels, there is insufficient information to determine whether the charge is equivalent to a felony.
If you have court documentation, providing it to the Eligibility Research Unit could help to expedite the research. All documentation provided by citizens must be validated before a final decision can be made. You may fax your documentation (with control number on the document or on a fax cover sheet) to 850-410-8138 or scan and email a copy to firstname.lastname@example.org.
I was told my background check was non-approved? What does that mean?
Your personally identifying information matched a record containing a prohibition. There are ten categories of persons who are not eligible to purchase or possess a firearm under federal law (Title 18, United States Code 922(g)(1)-(9), (n)). They are:
Convicted of a felony (or equivalent)
Fugitive from justice
Unlawful user or addicted to a controlled substance
Adjudicated mentally defective or involuntarily committed to treatment
Dishonorable discharge from the US Armed Forces
Renounced United States citizenship
Active protection order (restraining order, injunction for protection, etc.)
Convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence
Under indictment or information for a felony
In addition to federal law, Florida law prohibits persons who:
Are adjudicated delinquent of a crime that would have been a felony if committed by an adult until the age of 24 or until record is expunged.
Receive “Adjudication Withheld” on any felony or on a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence and three years has not yet lapsed since the completion of sentencing provisions.
Were recently arrested for a potentially disqualifying crime which has not been dismissed or disposed of in court.
Do events that occurred while serving in the armed forces or event that occurred outside of the US have any bearing on my ability to purchase a firearm?
Yes. Arrests, events, and convictions that occurred while serving in the armed forces are evaluated during a background check. Arrests, events, and convictions from other countries are treated the same as if they occurred in the United States.
My arrest happened a long time ago. How long am I going to be prohibited from purchasing a firearm?
The age of the offense is not relevant. Convictions are prohibiting until a subsequent qualifying court action, pardon, or restoration of rights process occurs causing the conviction to meet an exception to state or federal law.
I had my Florida arrest sealed. How can it be used during a firearm background check?
For the purpose of a firearm background check, arrests in a Florida criminal history record that have been sealed are relevant and may impact your eligibility to purchase a firearm.
I was arrested and charged as a juvenile. How does that affect my background check?
Juvenile arrests that resulted in an adjudication of delinquency are disqualifying for the purchase of a firearm until the individual has reached 24 years of age or until the record is expunged. Juvenile arrests for potentially disqualifying charges that are missing a disposition may be delayed for research to determine the disposition or if you were tried as an adult. If tried as an adult, a disposition of ‘guilty’ for a felony is a lifetime prohibition unless pardoned or rights are otherwise restored.